Pennzoil Returns to the National Hot Rod Association

Don Schumacher founded Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) in 1998 and has since won over 250 NHRA event titles and 16 NHRA World Championships. As a pioneer Funny Car driver/owner in the late 1960s and early 1970s, the Chicago native won five NHRA event titles.

Don Schumacher Racing is headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, and fields eight professional NHRA teams. Four drivers compete In Top Fuel, including eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher, Three-time NHRA Top Fuel world champion Antron Brown, and newcomers Shawn Langdon and Leah Pritchett. In the Funny Car category, DSR features four teams driving a 10,000 horsepower Dodge Charger R/T. These include 2011 and 2014 world champion Matt Hagan, 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman, 2016 NHRA world champion Ron Capps, and Tommy Johnson, Jr.

In March of 2015, Pennzoil® Synthetics with PurePlus® Technology became the “Official Oil Technology of Don Schumacher Racing.” Since making the switch to Pennzoil® to protect their 10,000HP engines, the Don Schumacher Racing teams have had outstanding performance on the NHRA circuit, breaking 33 track records and winning 45 out of 96 races for a 46% winning percentage.


2016: A Statement Season

Making the switch to Pennzoil continues to be a winning choice for Don Schumacher Racing. Enter 2016, where the drag racing dominance continued in both Top Fuel and Funny Car. In addition to racking up win after win, DSR driver Matt Hagan set the Funny Car world records for Elapsed Time with a 3.822 finish at Brainerd and for Top Speed at Topeka reaching 335.57 MPH.  The season ended in a familiar setting for Don Schumacher Racing – atop the podium.  

Drivers Antron Brown and Ron Capps road their powerful performances to World Championships in Top Fuel and Funny Car, respectively. With a fleet of drivers that can compete with the best in the world and Pennzoil Pure Plus® Technology in their engines, we look forward to what is sure to be another exciting season in 2017.