In 2021, Pennzoil celebrated another exhilarating and lucrative season in motorsports courtesy of teams and drivers across multiple divisions including NASCAR, INDYCAR, NHRA and Formula Drift. Pennzoil-backed drivers and teams scored multiple victories in each series, showcasing the Proof Is In The Pennzoil.

Additionally, Pennzoil hosted the 4th annual Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, sponsored multiple NHRA races and became the Official Motor Oil and Lubricant Partner of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES.


2018 NASCAR Cup Champion and driver of the No. 22 Pennzoil Ford Mustang, Joey Logano, scored a victory at the dirt race at Bristol Motor Speedway. Fellow Team Penske drivers, Brad Keselowski in the No.2 Ford Mustang and Ryan Blaney piloting the No. 12 Menards/Pennzoil Ford Mustang each won races bringing the team to five total victories in 2021. All three drivers earned a place in the NASCAR Cup Playoffs as a result of their performance throughout the season.

Scott McLaughlin was the newest addition to Team Penske’s INDYCAR driver roster, arriving from New Zealand to pilot the iconic Pennzoil “Yellow Submarine”. To learn about his new life in America, Scott took fans along for a ride around the country with the video series, #ScottLearnsAmerica. He embarked on a strong first season in INDYCAR, capturing the coveted Rookie of the Year honors. Fellow Team Penske driver, Josef Newgarden, scored two victories and finished second in the final standings. 2018 Indy 500 winner, Will Power, also raced into victory lane in 2021 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Additionally, Pennzoil became the Official Motor Oil and Lubricant Partner of NTT INDYCAR SERIES.

Don Schumacher Racing’s Top Fuel and Funny Car drivers each scored an NHRA victory in 2021! Within the Funny Car division, Matt Hagan took home three Wallys and Ron Capps captured one victory. Both drivers fought for the series Championship culminating at the Auto Club NHRA Finals in Pomona, California, with Ron Capps taking home the high honors for the second time in his career! For the Top Fuel division, Leah Pruett and Antron Brown both secured a well-deserved Wally. Pennzoil was the title sponsor for three NHRA events including the NHRA Spring Nationals at Houston Raceway Park. Additional entitlement races in 2021 included the Mile-High NHRA Nationals Presented By Pennzoil at Bandimere Speedway, the Mopar Express Lane NHRA Nationals Presented By Pennzoil at Maple Grove Raceway and the NHRA Nationals Presented by Pennzoil at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. 

Formula Drift
Professional Fun-Havers, Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Chelsea DeNofa enjoyed a season of fun and mostly sideways action during Formula Drift. Chelsea led the team to an impressive three victories and a fourth-place finish in the final season standings. Vaughn enjoyed a competitive season and finished fifth at the end of the year.

Congratulations are in order for all Pennzoil motorsports drivers for an impressive and heart pounding 2021 motorsports season. Pennzoil is proud to provide the necessary power and engine protection under extreme conditions to some of motorsports’ most winning teams!