For Pennzoil, INDYCAR racing is not just a sport. It’s a passion. From the adrenaline rush at engine startup to the high-speed wheel-to-wheel racing, Pennzoil is committed to providing the motor oil that helps allow these vehicles to push the limits. From sponsoring top INDYCAR athletes on Team Penske to being the Official Motor Oil and Lubricant Supplier of the IMS, INDYCAR and the NTT INDYCAR SERIES. Pennzoil has continued its commitment to the community throughout the years. Before tuning into the 107th Indianapolis 500, learn how Pennzoil engages with the INDYCAR community.

Team Penske Sponsorship

Since 1983, Pennzoil and Team Penske have been a winning combination on the INDYCAR circuit. Thanks to their shared commitment to performance, they have achieved incredible success throughout the years, including victories by each of the three current Team Penske teammates.

Scott McLaughlin joined Team Penske’s INDYCAR driver roster in 2021. As the pilot of the iconic “Yellow Submarine,” McLaughlin won the 2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES Rookie of the Year honors – the first Team Penske driver to win the award since its inception in 1979. His continued success makes the No. 3 Chevrolet one to watch in 2023.

Josef Newgarden is celebrating his 12th NTT INDYCAR SERIES season in 2023. Newgarden and Pennzoil have established themselves as a dominant force in IndyCar racing, with his 2023 historic win at the XPEL 375 at Texas Motor Speedway. This win marked Team Penske’s 600th win across all racing disciplines since the team’s first win 56 years prior. Josef Newgarden is ready to take on 2023 with Pennzoil helping protect his No. 2 Chevrolet.

Will Power is the perfect combination of performance and passion. As defending champion of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, Power drives with a relentless determination to push the limits. He is a force on the track for Team Penske, with his precision and veteran status behind the wheel having led to 41 career wins in the No. 12 Chevrolet. Power’s championship win led Team Penske to become the first team in history to hold both the NTT INDYCAR Series and NASCAR Championship titles, with Joey Logano winning the 2022 NASCAR series.

Five liter bottle of Pennzoil Ultra Platinum 0W-20.
Pennzoil Ultra Platinum powers all vehicles in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES


Scott McLaughlin

  • 2022 Firestone Grand Prix 
  • 2022 Honda 200 
  • 2022 Portland Grand Prix 
  • 2023 Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix

Josef Newgarden

  • 2022 XPEL 375 
  • 2022 Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach 
  • 2022 Sonsio Grand Prix 
  • 2022 250 
  • 2022 Bommarito Automotive Group 500 
  • 2023 PPG 375

Will Power

  • 2022 Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix 
  • 2022 IndyCar Championship

INDYCAR Innovation Powered by Pennzoil

In 2022, Pennzoil further displayed its commitment to industry innovation by extending its technical alliances to continue as the Official Motor Oil and Lubricant Supplier of INDYCAR and the NTT INDYCAR SERIES. Pennzoil will also be the official supplier for the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS), home of the 107th Indy500 this May.

The extreme stress put on an NTT INDYCAR SERIES engine provides the optimal test bed for modern motor oils like Pennzoil Ultra Platinum. The highly efficient and powerful engine technology used in INDYCAR has presented Pennzoil with an opportunity to innovate and prove how their motor oils can make a difference on the track. The on-track performance and data serve as a laboratory for the motor oil Pennzoil introduces for passenger cars, helping make sure that drivers get the most out of their vehicle. Pennzoil Ultra Platinum extends the life of your engine and protects it for up to 15 years or 500,000 miles, guaranteed1. That’s the same distance it would take to run the Indy500 1,000 times!

Celebrating Indy500 Champions with The Club Documentary

Rick Mears
Rick Mears (center) after his second Indy 500 victory in 1988

The Indianapolis 500 is known as The Greatest Spectacle in racing for a reason. The iconic track, the built anticipation, the roaring victory lane, and even the victorious glass of milk come together to create the unique racing experience.

In May of 2022, Pennzoil presented “The Club,” a documentary with the motorsports industry’s most exclusive club – the four INDYCAR drivers who have won the Indianapolis 500 four times. A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr., Rick Mears, and Helio Castroneves made up the prestigious group, 110 years in the making.

The on-camera conversation is available to stream on NBC’s Peacock

For a behind-the-scenes look at the 2023 INDYCAR season, check out  “100 DAYS TO INDY.” The six-part docu-series features the preparation and races leading up to this years’ INDY500. It can be streamed on the CW Network app.

As Pennzoil powers the next mile in INDYCAR, the 2023 season is bound to be as action-packed as last year’s. Tune in to NBC or Peacock on Sunday, May 28th at 11:00 AM ET to watch Team Penske in the 2023 Indy500 live and follow Pennzoil on Twitter and Instagram to stay up to date with the latest on Team Penske.



1 15 years or 500,000 miles, whichever comes first. Your engine must have less than 125,000 miles and have been manufactured in the past 72 months. To maintain your warranty, change your vehicle’s oil and oil filter at least as often as recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. Enrollment required. Keep your receipts. Other conditions apply.